Out of My Mind (2012)

out of my mindHello all bibliophiles! If you have stumbled upon my little corner of the cyber-net, then you are in for a treat. Today was a normal day. I went to class, work and all the other things in between. But today was also a special day. I discovered a-long-lost-book-love. Sharon M. Draper. Now you might have heard of this name WAY back in middle school. She is the fantastic  #1 NY TImes Best Seller who wrote the critically-acclaimed The Jericho Trilogy and The Hazelwood Trilogy. She is also a five time winner of the Coretta Scott King Award for her great stories. She wrote one of my favorite novels as a middle schooler Romiette and Julio (Sorry Mrs. Meyers). Ms. Draper is just all around a great author and she gets the book-addict named Felicia inside me just so giddy.

Now, at this moment I am going to tell you about Out of My Mind. This is the story of Melody Brooks, an eleven-year old genius with a photographic memory. However, she has never said a word. She is physically disabled with a neurological disease called Cerebral Palsy (CP). The story goes on to present her struggles as someone who is trapped inside her own body, screaming to be heard. She just desires to be normal; she realizes with her smarts that she can be. With the support of her family and friends, Melody enters her school’s  Quiz Team in hopes to be like all the other kids in her class and  win a trip to Washington, D.C.

This story is just poignant and hopeful.  I found myself frustrated when she was frustrated. I was happy for her when she brushed off the haters. To be honest, I did a total fist pump when she basically told all those naysayers to go to hell.  If you want a book that not only  is an interesting read, but also makes you think about the people around you go purchase this book either from Amazon or Barnes & Noble or even pick it up from your local library.

OMMquote

One thought on “Out of My Mind (2012)

  1. I remember Sharon M. Draper’s works like it was yesterday. This book sound like an interesting read and a “must have.” About Melody, I think I will be able to relate to her in a way concerning the “screaming to be heard” and “desires to be normal.”

    Next time I visit the bookstore, I shall hunt for this one!

Leave a Reply

